Dedicated to enhancing the legal profession through advanced financial education


About the ILLINOIS Chapter

For a quick one minute synopsis of the many benefits of the AACFL, please click the video link here:

The Illinois chapter of the AACFL is an organization of elite attorneys dedicated to excellence in the financial aspects of litigation. Membership indicates a significant commitment to the community by improving the efficiency of the court system through advanced financial education for attorneys. Additional benefits include greater efficiencies for their clients, effective financial strategies, and reductions in avoidable court time. The primary mission of the AACFL is to serve the public by establishing a community of lawyers committed to optimizing financial results for their clients.

The CFL™ training program, available only to AACFL members, provides advanced education to attorneys through live courses, member events, and a wide range of training resources and practice tools. The CFL™ Exam provides independent, unbiased testing of an attorney’s skill in financial areas. The CFL™ designation indicates completion of the training curriculum, success in passing the CFL exam, and is the AACFL’s highest mark of distinction for an attorney.

Many cases require an attorney who is sophisticated in financial matters. Whether a case is a divorce, a shareholder dispute, a damages claim, or other type of litigation, chances are that a significant part of the litigation relates to money. Surprisingly, many lawyers are not required to be trained in these areas. A common path for a lawyer is a liberal arts undergraduate education followed by law school resulting in minimal training in financial areas other than from occasional seminars. AACFL members can receive unique training in financial areas that could make a significant difference in both the outcome of a case and in the efficiency with which it is handled.

Membership is available to attorneys who are dedicated to the AACFL mission of enhancing the legal system through our programs and to being on the “cutting edge” of financial strategies.

For the individuals in need of an attorney with sophistication in financial matters, we encourage you to visit our national website and learn about the benefits of working with an AACFL member today.


The success of the Illinois chapter would not be possible without the leadership, guidance, and dedication of our attorney advisory board, advisory firms, sponsors, and education faculty.

Illinois Advisory Board

Bruce  Richman – Mazars USA


Thomas Field – Beermann LLP


Michael Koenigsberger – Dussias Wittenberg Koenigsberger LLP


Judd Fineberg – Dussias Wittenberg Koenigsberger LLP


Michone Riewer – Riewer & Collins, LLC


Will Stogsdill – The Stogsdill Law Firm P.C.


Michael Strauss – Schlesinger & Strauss, LLC


Laura Baluch – Barrick, Switzer, Long, Balsley, & Van Evera LLP


Burton Hochberg – Schiller, DuCanto & Fleck LLP


To contact a chapter member please email us

Member NameFirm NameMembership TypeCFL™ Certified
Alexandra Perraud Lake Toback DiDomenicoFounding Member
Angel Traub A. Traub & AssociatesFounding Member
Anthony Vechiola, CFLSullivan Taylor, Gumina & Palmer, P.C.Founding MemberCFL™
Bella RappaportLaw Offices of Bella Maria RappaportFounding Member
Benedict SchwarzLaw Offices of Benedict Schwarz, II P.C.Founding Member
Brendan HammerBerger & SchatzFounding Member
Bruce Richman Mazars USAAdvisory Board Member
Burton Hochberg Schiller, DuCanto & Fleck LLPAdvisory Board Member
Christopher Wehrman Swanson, Martin & Bell, LLPFounding Member
Danya Grunyk Granyk Family LawFounding Member
Deanna Bowen Law Office of Deanna J BowenFounding Member
Deidre SandersShaw Family Law, P.C.Founding Member
Donald PhelanFay, Farrow & Associates, P.C.Founding Member
Elizabeth ShindlerGrund & Leavitt, P.C. Member
Erika Foltys Shaw Family Law, P.C.Founding Member
Faye M. Lyon Faye M. Lyon P.C.Founding Member
Frances Krasnow Harrison & Held, LLPFounding Member
Gabriela Asrow Hoffenberg and Block, LLCFounding Member
Gail O'Connor O'Connor Family Law, P.C.Founding Member
Gloria Block Hoffenberg and Block, LLCFounding Member
Hilary Sefton Granyk Family LawFounding Member
Hon. Karen Shields JAMSFounding Member
Hon. Michele Lowrance JAMSFounding Member
Ilene Shapiro, CFLGrund & Leavitt, P.C.Founding MemberCFL™
James GodboutCliftonLarsonAllenEducator Member
Janet FuentyLaw Offices of Janet D. FuentyFounding Member
Jessica SendekBotti Marinaccio, Ltd.Member
John D'Arco, CFLBeermann LLPMemberCFL™
John FayFay, Farrow & Associates, P.C.Founding Member
Jonathan Bereman Hoffenberg and Block, LLCFounding Member
Jordan Rosenberg, CFLBeermann LLPMemberCFL™
Joseph Emmerth Sullivan Taylor, Gumina & Palmer, P.C.Founding Member
Joy Feinberg Boyle Feinberg Sharma PCFounding Member
Judd Fineberg Dussias Wittenberg Koenigsberger LLPAdvisory Board Member
Juli Gumina Sullivan Taylor, Gumina & Palmer, P.C.Founding Member
Kathryn McMahon VivancoKATZ & STEFANI, LLCFounding Member
Kathryn MickelsonBeermann LLPMember
Kelly Collins Collins Family Law, LLCFounding Member
Laura Baluch Barrick, Switzer, Long, Balsley, & Van Evera LLPAdvisory Board Member
Leah Setzen Granyk Family LawFounding Member
Lori Peacock Peacock Law Office, LLCFounding Member
Marie Sarantakis, CFLSarantakis Law Group, Ltd.MemberCFL™
Marjorie JacobsAlternative Strategies, Inc.Founding Member
Mark FarrowFay, Farrow & Associates, P.C.Founding Member
Mark Wakenight, CFLWakenight & AssociatesFounding MemberCFL™
Matt ShawShaw Family Law, P.C.Founding Member
Maureen Sullivan Taylor Sullivan Taylor, Gumina & Palmer, P.C.Founding Member
Maxine WeissWeiss-Kunz & Oliver, LLCFounding Member
Michael BiederstadtBiederstadt Law, P.C.Founding Member
Michael GauthierGauthier Family LawFounding Member
Michael Koenigsberger Dussias Wittenberg Koenigsberger LLPAdvisory Board Member
Michael Smith, CFLMichael J. Smith, Attorney at Law, LLCFounding MemberCFL™
Michael Strauss Schlesinger & Strauss, LLCAdvisory Board Member
Michone Riewer Strategic DivorceAdvisory Board Member
Nancy Shafer, CFLChausow Shafer, P.CFounding MemberCFL™
Nicholas RichardsonLaw Offices of Nicholas W. Richardson, P.C.Founding Member
Nefertiti FranceStrategic DivorceMember
Raiford Palmer Sullivan Taylor, Gumina & Palmer, P.C.Founding Member
Rebecca KrawczykowskiFay, Farrow & Associates, P.C.Founding Member
Ronald Bell Ronald L. Bell and Associates P.C.Founding Member
Simul JhaveriBeermann LLPMember
Stephanie CappsThe Capps Law FirmFounding Member
Stephanie Tang, CFLKogut & Wilson, LLCFounding MemberCFL™
Stephen Botti Botti Marinaccio, Ltd.Founding Member
Stuart Reid, CFLThe Law Offices of Stuart A. Reid, P.CFounding MemberCFL™
Susan Alvarado Law Offices of Susan O'Neil Alvarado & AssociatesFounding Member
Thomas Field, CFLBeermann LLPAdvisory Board MemberCFL™
Tiffany Alexander, CFLStrategic DivorceFounding MemberCFL™
Timothy Weiler, CFLWeiler & LengleFounding MemberCFL™
Vanessa HammerRosenfeld FarmerFounding Member
Victoria Kelly Granyk Family LawFounding Member
Wendy Vaughn Northern Illinois UniversityFounding Member
Will Stogsdill The Stogsdill Law Firm P.C.Advisory Board Member
Leslie FinebergNottage & WardMember
  • 800-809-1999